Friday, Jun 02, 2023 | New Delhi 31*C

Voting on 58 seats today in the sixth phase, these 10 people including Manoj-Kanhaiya, Mufti will contest the election.

Voters will exercise their franchise in 58 Lok Sabha constituencies across eight states and union territories on Saturday during the sixth phase. A total of 889 candidates from various political parties are in the fray in the sixth phase.

Polling has been completed in 428 out of 543 seats in the five phases of the Lok Sabha elections. The sixth phase of polling is on Saturday i.e. 25th May. During the sixth phase, voters will exercise their franchise in 58 Lok Sabha constituencies across eight states and union territories. A total of 889 candidates from various political parties are in the fray in the sixth phase.

Voting in 42 assembly seats of Odisha also

In this phase Bihar (8 seats), Haryana (all 10 seats), Jammu and Kashmir (1 seat), Jharkhand (4 seats), Delhi (all 7 seats), Odisha (6 seats), Uttar Pradesh (14 seats) and West Voting will be held in Bengal (8 seats). Apart from this, voting will also be held on 42 assembly seats of Odisha.

Talking about the main constituencies of the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections, New Delhi, North-East Delhi, North-West Delhi, Chandni Chowk; Sultanpur and Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh, Anantnag-Rajouri in Jammu and Kashmir; Medinipur of Tamluk, West Bengal; Karnal, Kurukshetra, Gurgaon, Rohtak in Haryana and Bhubaneswar, Puri and Sambalpur in Odisha are prominent.

At stake in this phase are many personalities including Dharmendra Pradhan, Manoj Tiwari, Kanhaiya Kumar, Maneka Gandhi, Mehbooba Mufti, Abhijit Gangopadhyay, Manohar Lal Khattar, Naveen Jindal, Sambit Patra, Raj Babbar, Bansuri Swaraj.

In the sixth phase, the reputation of these 10 celebrities is at stake

  • Bansuri Swaraj (BJP): Bansuri Swaraj is the daughter of late Union Minister Sushma Swaraj. She is a candidate from New Delhi Lok Sabha seat and is contesting against Aam Aadmi Party's KK Somnath Bharti. BJP won all the seats in Delhi in 2019 and 2014 Lok Sabha elections.
  • Manoj Tiwari (BJP) and Kanhaiya Kumar (Congress): The fight in North East Delhi is between the two main candidates of BJP and Congress. BJP's incumbent MP Manoj Tiwari and Congress's Kanhaiya Kumar are pitted against each other. The BJP, which won the national capital in the 2019 elections, removed all six of its seven MPs this time, while retaining actor-turned-politician Manoj Tiwari.
  • Maneka Gandhi (BJP): Maneka Gandhi is contesting from the Sultanpur Lok Sabha seat and is facing competition from Samajwadi Party's Ram Bhual Nishad and Bahujan Samaj Party's (BSP) Uday Raj Verma.
  • Dinesh Lal Yadav (BJP) and Dharmendra Yadav (SP): Azamgarh MP Dinesh Lal Yadav is contesting against former UP CM Akhilesh Yadav's cousin Nirhua and Samajwadi Party's Dharmendra Yadav. Earlier in 2019 Akhilesh Yadav won from Azamgarh seat and in 2014 Mulayam Singh Yadav won from this seat.
  • Sambit Patra (BJP): Sambit Patra is contesting from Puri seat in Odisha. He is contesting against Arup Patnaik of BJD and Jai Narayan Patnaik of Congress. In 2019, he contested from the Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat, but lost to BJP's Aparajita Sarangi.
  • Naveen Jindal (BJP): A three-cornered contest is likely in Haryana's Kurukshetra in the sixth phase of the polls. BJP candidate businessman Naveen Jindal is contesting against Sushil Gupta of Aam Aadmi Party and Abhay Singh Chautala of Indian National Lok Dal (INLD). Jindal, who joined the BJP from the Congress in March this year, had previously served as the representative of the Kurukshetra parliamentary constituency from 2004 to 2014. He lost to BJP's Rajkumar Saini in 2014 and was not nominated by the Congress for 2019.
  • Manohar Lal Khattar (BJP): BJP candidate and former Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar is contesting from Karnal seat and is contesting against Congress candidate Divyanshu Budhiraja. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won all the seats in Haryana and the party's Sanjay Bhatia won from the Karnal seat.
  • Raj Babbar (Congress): In Haryana's Gurgaon, Raj Babbar of Congress and BJP's incumbent MP and former minister Rao Indrajit Singh are in a contest. Rao Indrajit Singh has won twice before this. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, he won the seat with 881,546 votes (60.9 percent), while Congress' Ajay Singh Yadav lost. In the 2014 election, he received 644,780 votes (48.8 percent).
  • Abhijit Gangopadhyay (BJP): BJP has fielded former Calcutta High Court judge Abhijit Gangopadhyay from West Bengal's Tamluk seat. He is contesting against TMC's Devanshu Bhattacharya and CPI(M)'s Sayan Banerjee. Gangopadhyay resigned as a Calcutta High Court judge and joined the BJP in March. During the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, TMC's Divyandu Adhikari defeated BJP's Siddharth Shankar Naskar from Tamluk. Divyendu Adhikari is the brother of Shubhendu Adhikari and he has also joined BJP.
  • Mehbooba Mufti (JKPDP): Former Jammu and Kashmir CM and JKPDP leader is contesting from Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat. JKNC's Mian Altaf Larvi and JKAP's Zafar Iqbal Khan Manhas are contesting against him.
Download App from

Cryptocurrency News

Bitcoin Price
₹ 23,15,263 -2.89%
Bitcoin Price
₹ 23,15,263 +2.89%
Bitcoin Price
₹ 23,15,263 +2.89%